Transition

The Great Transition, an opportunity to rethink economic and social action.

Context

Current economy and socieity are radically separated from natural cycles and elements. The consequences on well-being and social relations are often important, they are dramatic on the environment, and prefigure a possible genral failure of installed socioeconomic systems.

The international community has committed several times towards a transition of production and consumption modes as well as energy. But we lack a vision, an alternative story for the future of our societies. However, the transition of economy and society towards a sustainable future has already started for local communities and pioneer companies.

The distance between the old and the new economy seems so important that the multitude seems to lack landmarks to imagine and engage within the emerging new society, even as they have understood the deadend of the operating system of most of the economic and social sysems. The great transition is this process both individual and collective, with solidarity in its approach, that contributes to a sustainable future for our societies, tapping in the solidarity and know-how, the dynamism of social entrepreneurship, individual or collective, and in scientific research oriented towards this future.

What we propose

Economic development based on human and ecosystem potential

  • Study of the potential of symbiotic development of the local area of the company (including, but not limited to Ecosystem Services Review, ecological, economical and social know-how and innovation)
  • Design of transition plans for communities and/or organizations
  • Design of permaculture sites and training in permaculture
  • Facilitation or management of social economy, (sub)urban agriculture and CSA projects

Feasibility studies and impact studies

  • Study of feasibility of developement projects
  • Study of the impact and performance of supply chains, and development projects
  • Multicriteria evaluation multicritères, environmental mediation
  • Partnership and multistakeholder dialogue

Mediation and stakeholder dialogue

The great transition and sustainable development start by a dialogue with stakeholders, and takes form in mutual commitment between partners. This coordination is not easy, because each part is submitted to specific challenges and constraint.
A third person is often necessary. This is why we propose you our mediation and stekholder dialogue services.

More on the great transition

Building sustainable livelihoods in West Kalimantan

Building sustainable livelihoods in West Kalimantan

The program on “management of natural resources based on indigenous peoples’ local knowledge” in West Kalimantan had multiple facets: reclaiming customary rights on land and forest, conducting activities of adaptation to and mitigation of climate change, economic empowerment through the establishment of local credit union service points, and support to food security and income generating activities. It was globally successful, but new challenges appear for the communities involved.

read more
Le label Bio Français Équitable contribuera-t-il à faire avancer le bio français vers plus d’équité ?

Le label Bio Français Équitable contribuera-t-il à faire avancer le bio français vers plus d’équité ?

La Fédération Nationale de l’Agriculture Biologique (FNAB) vient de lancer le label Bio Français Équitable. Cette initiative contribuera-t-elle à faire avancer le bio français vers plus d’équité ? Cet article analyse le contexte d’émergence de ce label, notamment les défis de l’agriculture biologique et du commerce équitable.

Building sustainable livelihoods in West Kalimantan

Building sustainable livelihoods in West Kalimantan

The program on “management of natural resources based on indigenous peoples’ local knowledge” in West Kalimantan had multiple facets: reclaiming customary rights on land and forest, conducting activities of adaptation to and mitigation of climate change, economic empowerment through the establishment of local credit union service points, and support to food security and income generating activities. It was globally successful, but new challenges appear for the communities involved.

Support to biotrade from Africa

Support to biotrade from Africa

Biotrade Is your organization (company, research center, foundation, NGOs) developing new ingredients or new applications of ingredients deriving from the biodiversity in Africa or other continents? Did you know that, since October 2014*, you have legal obligations...

Pierre W. Johnson


International consultant, study and sustainable development of natural products value chains. Specialist of markets of origin, quality and high value products. Expert on Access and Benefit Sharing.
Keynote speaker on transition to an ecological economy & society.

Member of the
International Value Links Association.

Associate expert to

Tero

Board member of
Nature Rights

Twitter

Share This

Transition

La transition écologique et sociale, une opportunité pour repenser l’activité économique et sociale.

Contexte

L’économie et la société actuelles sont radicalement coupées des cycles et des éléments naturels. Les conséquences sur le bien-être et les relations sociales sont souvent importantes, celles sur l’environnement sont dramatiques, et laissent présager un effondrement possible des systèmes socio-techniques savamment installés.

À plusieurs reprises, la communauté internationale s’est engagée à une transition des modes de production et de consommation de l’énergie, mais nous manquons d’une vision, d’un récit alternatif pour l’avenir de nos sociétés. Pourtant, à l’échelle de communautés locales et d’entreprises pionnières, la transition de l’économie et de la société vers un avenir soutenable est déjà commencée.

Le hiatus entre l’ancienne et la nouvelle économie parait pourtant tellement important, que nombreux sont ceux qui manquent de repères pour imaginer et s’engager dans la société naissante, alors même qu’ils ont compris l’impasse du logiciel opérant encore dans la majorité des systèmes économiques et politiques. La transition écologique et sociale est ce processus à la fois individuel et collectif, solidaire dans son approche, de contribuer à un avenir soutenable pour nos sociétés, en partant des solidarités et des savoir-faire locaux, du dynamisme de l’entrepreneuriat social, individuel ou collectif, et de la recherche scientifique orientée vers cet avenir.

Ce que nous proposons

Développement économique basé sur le potentiel humain et des écosystèmes

  • Étude du potentiel de développement symbiotique du territoire ou de l’entreprise (englobant mais non limité à : Services Rendus par les Écosystèmes, savoir-faire et innovations écologiques, économiques et sociales)
  • Conception et animation de projets de transition écologique de territoires et/ou d’organisations
  • Conception de sites et formations en permaculture
  • Animation de projets d’économie sociale et solidaire, agriculture urbaine, circuits courts, notamment

Études de faisabilité et études d’impact

  • Études de faisabilité de projets de développement
  • Études de l’impact et de la performance de filières, et de projets de développement
  • Évaluation multicritères, médiation environnementale
  • Partenariat et dialogue multi-acteurs

Médiation et dialogue entre parties prenantes

La transition écologique et le développement durable commencent par un dialogue avec les parties prenantes et se concrétise dans des engagements mutuels entre partenaires.
Cette coordination n’est pas aisée, car chacun est soumis à des enjeux et à des contraintes particulières.
Souvent une tierce partie est nécessaire. C’est pourquoi nous vous proposons nos services de médiation et de facilitation du dialogue avec vos parties prenantes.

Aller plus loin

Mieux comprendre les enjeux de la transition écologique :

Des limites planétaires à la grande transition

Des limites planétaires à la grande transition

Nous vivons une époque de changements accélérés, dans laquelle de nombreuses personnes, organisations ou territoires manquent de clés pour comprendre, s’orienter et agir. Nos systèmes éducatifs, managériaux, et politiques ne nous ont tout simplement pas préparés à un monde où les ressources pourtant abondantes de notre planète sont menacées, et où certains grands équilibres menacent d’être rompues. Cet article vise à donner quelques clés sur l’analyse scientifique des « limites planétaires », un des points de départ des politiques de transition écologique et sociale.

lire plus
La biodiversité : un enjeu commun

La biodiversité : un enjeu commun

La biodiversité est définie scientifiquement comme "la diversité et la variabilité du vivant". Source de créativité permanente, elle apparait encore à beaucoup comme un sujet éloigné du cœur de nos activités économiques et sociales. Pourtant, la plupart de ces...

Pierre W. Johnson

Économiste écologique trilingue.

Chef de projet en développement de produits naturels (alimentaires, médicinaux, cosmétiques) du Sud et Nord depuis plus de 20 ans. Consultant en transition écologique et sociale depuis 2010.

Je facilite la collaboration entre les acteurs de l'économie et du territoire pour un développement basé sur les opportunités qu'offre la transition écologique et sociale.

Twitter

Share This